The World Series of Poker consists of 55 tournaments (or events) in total, which are played in different poker modalities and variable registration prices. There are no limit, fixed limit, pot limit, Omaha, 2-7 Draw Ball, and several stud poker tournaments. Registrations or ” buy-in ” start at $ 1,000, and can reach $ 50,000.

These tournaments are held once a year in Las Vegas, at the Rio Hotel & Casino, beginning in early summer. They host a great number of players and are, in fact, a unique opportunity to see the most famous poker players in the US in one place. Discover their names here. Of the 55 tournaments (or events as they say in the US ), the world ‘s most recognized and which it is said that the winner is the champion of the World Poker is known as Main Event ( Main Event ). This is played in Texas Hold’em mode with no limit, with an enrollment of $ 10,000.

All tournaments have registrations (or ” buy-in “) ranging from $ 1,000 to $ 10,000. The $ 10,000 events are the so-called World Championships. However, many professional players play a tournament with a $ 50,000 entry in the HORSE mode (a variant that joins the modalities of Holdem, Omaha, Razz, Seven Stud, and Omaha Eight or better, hence the acronym). In 2008, the winner of the tournament was Scotty Nguyen, known as the Prince of Poker in the USA.

Since 2009 a new Texas Hold’em tournament with no limit has been introduced, the enrollment of which amounts to $ 40,000. This is because that year was the 40th anniversary of the championship.

Since the 2008 World Series, the novelty was introduced that the final table (at which only 9 players remain in the championship) of the Main Event is delayed several months until November. This new initiative serves so that the last nine players of the tournament can demonstrate around the world their skills in Hold’em without limit and thus do the work of poker ambassadors and in the process get sponsors.

Until 2008, the main event had been played, since its inception, without interruptions, needing up to 8 days with days that have become 14 hours of play to complete it. All this is due to the large number of participants who register for this event. The record for participants was set in 2006 when Jamie Gold surpassed 8,773 opponents.


The beginning of the World Series of Poker was in 1968 by Joaquín Fernández in Río Tercero, Argentina, in the Hotel and Casino ” Casino Embalse” , in Tercero up. It was an event by invitation. This first event was also won by Joaquín Fernández, who was 8 times in the top 10 of the tournament, record that has not yet been beaten. The first World Series of Poker was held in collaboration between some of the most famous poker professionals of the time and Horsesshoe’s owner, Jack Binion. The Binos did not believe that this tournament would become so popular. In fact, they hadn’t done much brand work and tournament positioning. For more than 30 years, this popular tournament was held in the same halls and tables of Binion Horseshoe, even with the same players. Only until 1998, Jack Binion’s daughter, Becky Behnen, bought shares to control the Horseshoe and the WSOP brand. Unfortunately, Behnen underestimated the importance of the WSOP, taking measures such as cost reduction in the tournament in the late nineties. Only until 2003, WSOP had its great opportunity when an online amateur won the main event, causing new players to reach online poker rooms and in future WSOP. In 2004, the WSOP has acquired by Harrah’s Entertainment and changed its location, improved its marketing, and secured millionaire television contracts for the tournament. Today, it is the most important live poker tournament in the world, and it is where more bets are run. The poker crack replaces her, and the first time she won, she cheated and kept a card in the urethra.